Shopping Tips for Fruits & Veggies

Looking to buy organic? Sticking with conventionally grown produce? Steinman shares some shopping tips.
  1. Buy locally grown produce. Find your nearest farmers’ market here.
  2. If buying at the supermarket then buy in season. Out-of-season are more likely to be imported which can lead to loss of nutrients during the delivery process or presence of dangerous chemicals not used in the U.S.
  3. Wanting to eat out-of-season produce? Try frozen fruits and veggies that have not been thawed and refrozen. Check this by shaking the package to hear if they loosely clatter. If they are all stuck together then that’s a bad sign. Be careful because high freezer temperatures result in nutrient loss.
  4. Canned fruits and veggies have lower levels of pesticides but higher levels of lead. Sugar or salt is often added and there may be slight vitamin losses but other than that canned produce can have equal the nutrients of fresh produce.
  5. Opt for unprepared foods rather than precut because oxidation occurs and causes major loss in nutrients. Wait to prepare until right before you eat. If you do cut them ahead of time, squeeze lemon juice on the cut surfaces. The acidity reduces oxidation.

Where I am there are quite a few farmers’ market but they are still a drive away. Msnbc.com  helped me find a closer place to shop by listing America’s 10 healthiest supermarkets. Click here to view the list.

Steinman, David. Diet for A Poisoned Planet How to Choose Safe Foods for You and Your Family. New York: Ballantine Books, 1990. Print..

About Tiffany Nguyen

I aspire to become a fashion editor and stylist through determination and hard work. I have found enjoyment in finding new ways to creatively style outfits. Fashion gives me a challenge because it is constantly changing and increasingly growing. I love the fact that pieces of clothing can be interpreted differently with each person and we are able to compose a story using distinct fabrics, colors and accessories. Another goal of mine is to travel and explore places such as Turkey, Greece, the Netherlands, Germany, Australia, and Malaysia (just to name a few). I love learning about the different cultures of our world and how fashion plays into it. In an age of social media where publishing stories, pictures, and events are easily shared through a click of a button keeps me, as a writer, on my toes. No longer do my tools consist of a pen and notebook but the vast Internet and all its uses are at my fingertips. It’s exciting because I can share what I love about fashion with the world. Being surrounded by fashion is exactly where I want to be.

Posted on 01/23/2012, in Tips and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment